Shorin-Ryu Karate is one of the significant branches of Okinawa Karate, created and developed by Okinawan masters. It primarily consists of techniques and traditions formerly practised in the Shuri and Tomari regions around Naha. Some schools have adopted Kata and techniques from the Shorei-Ryu schools, which is the Naha-Te style of Okinawa Karate. Shorin-Ryu was first named by Chosin Chibana in 1933, but the principles and techniques are much older.

There are four main branches of Shorin-Ryu. Those branches are Kobayashi-Ryu, Matsubayashi-Ryu, Shobayashi-Ryu and Matsumura Seito.

Choshin Chibana (1885-1969)
Choshin Chibana (1885-1969) – Style also known as: Kobayashi-Ryu
Shoshin Nagamine (1907–1997)
Shoshin Nagamine (1907–1997) – Style also known as: Matsubayashi-Ryu
Eizo Shimabukuro - Shobayashi Shorin-Ryu
Eizo Shimabukuro – Style also known as: Shobayashi-Ryu
Soken Hohan (1889-1982) - Matsumura Seito
Soken Hohan (1889-1982) – Style also known as: Matsumura Seito